I saw it and as a fan of Little Kuriboh’s Yu-gi-Oh the Abridged Series I had no chose to feature it. It’s awesome! ^^
Artwork by ARCatSK
I saw it and as a fan of Little Kuriboh’s Yu-gi-Oh the Abridged Series I had no chose to feature it. It’s awesome! ^^
Artwork by ARCatSK
So the 2011 Asian Tour Cast has ended in it’s first location of Guangzhou, China and it’s heading to Shanghai. The show premires there on the 2nd (which techinally today-the day of the post) and it will be there till December 24. So if you’re in Shanghai go see it ^^
I will say that I find it funny that a big selling point of the show for the Asian Tour is William Jenning’s lyrics. William Jenning, of course is a well regraded lyricist who wrote the lyrics for “My Heart will go on” but the english lyrics in this show are terrible for the most part and yet that it’s a big selling point. *shakes head in disappointment*
This video I feel remissed in not posting till now. This video uses the Bollywood Film Devdas , and it’s made by me. I used to edit to Devdas all the time because franky it’s a pretty movie. This video is the symphonic version of Belle. I did this video as an experiment to learn Final Cut Express
and trying to be slightly narrative. Anyway Enjoy
Click here to view it on youtube
There are other Devdas videos to Notre Dame de Paris, I’ll post those sometime soon ^^
“I’m Gonna Love You” was made in part by Jennifer Love Hewitt’s desire to sing a song because at the time she was a singer. Considering Hewitt played Madeline, we can say that Madeline sings this song about Quasimodo. The message of the song is a little difficult to communicate so you’re going to have to stay with me, the message is that Madeline is going to love Quasimodo. And not only that she going to do so for the rest of her life. I guess when she dies she is exempt from loving him anymore.
It’s a standard pop song, sweet and innocuous, though there is hint of codependency, she can’t be without him or her soul will die. What’s more Romantic than Codependency??? I wish this bothered me more but I don’t take this song seriously enough to care.
Can’t say I’m a Jennifer Love Hewitt fan, she seems to buy into the pop vibrato and has nasal tone to her voice but at least she sings without auto-tuning, so kudos to her. I do think it’s funny that at the end, she sings “babe” which is a reference to Quasimodo. It feels really out place with rest of the song and is really awkward. Like, it’s there as a pop music trope rather than as an expression of love.
“I’m Gonna Love you” is a typical pop song with codependent lyrics to boot. But this whole movie is just and attempt to get children to shut-up for an hour while their baby-sitters make-out, so I don’t imagine too many people (kids) actually listen or understand the codependent message of the song or they are too young to understand, so hence I don’t care, I found the lyrics more hilarious than sad, which I guess is sad.
Next Time -TBD
When I say I’d Stick With You is the worse song in the movie I mean it, but it may not be the stupidest. Which is odd considering the lyrics of Fa la la la Fallen In Love, which based on the title, it qualifies as the stupidest song of the movie.
So the song is about how Quasimodo has fallen in love, that’s it. The song starts with the Gargoyles lamenting that their “boy” has grown (their boy is like 27) and in love but their lament is a fake because they’re happy that “Love has nailed him” then the crowd joins in about have love has “derailed him“. (Didn’t this happen more to Madeline???)
Musically the song isn’t bad, it has a jovial and whimsical tone. The lyrics are one of the problems with this song. First off the song is called Fa la la la Fallen In Love and those are the bulk of lyrics. This is just stupid! But I think the “Oh Wow” lines are stupider. Now here the big problem, I can’t write this song off as completely stupid (and that pains me). The song uses a lot of word that I didn’t know. Like roundelay and madrigal. Roundelay is 1) a song in which a phrase, line, or the like, is continually repeated 2) the music for such a song 3) a dance in a circle; round dance. And Madrigal 1) a secular part song without instrumental accompaniment, usually for four to six voices, making abundant use of contrapuntal imitation, popular especially in the 16th and 17th centuries 2) a lyric poem suitable for being set to music, usually short and often of amatory character, especially fashionable in the 16th century and later, in Italy, France, England, etc 3) any part song. However both words are anachronism, I mean if your going to use pedantic words they should at least be fashionable to the setting. It’s funny that a song in a sequel would use GRE type words and be called Fa la la la Fallen, use that title as a Roundlay and use the line “Oh Wow” it’s mind boggling to say the least.
I have another issue with the song. The song seems incredulous to the fact that Quasimodo could have fallen in love in the first place. Which is insane since Quasimodo wants to be in love because he think it looks nice. And this isn’t the first time Quasimodo has “fallen in love” remember Esmeralda, she broke his heart (or ripped it). The purpose of this song seems to be that a hard-hearted people has fallen in love which is evident in the lines “Love has nailed him” and “Love’s derailed him.” It seem more suited to Madeline and not Quasimodo. I mean Madeline as to overcome low self-esteem and has to get past Quasimodo’s deformity. What did Quasimodo have to do? Stare and listen to her. And further more why does the crowd care? When did Quasimodo become the Darling of Paris? Because the Darling of Paris is Esmeralda and is a 1917 Hunchback film version starring Theda Bara.
Fa la la la Fallen In Love is a dumb little song that uses big words for the sake of alliteration, which makes a level of sense because Quasimodo and Madeline’s relationship is founded alliteration as well lies but still it’s stupid. And no amount of smart and big words can help save it from it’s stupid title.
Next Time – I’m Gonna Love You ( a.k.a Jennifer Love Hewitt’s Vanity Project)
With the new cast of Notre Dame de Paris I wanted something Notre Dame de Paris for Fan-art Friday and then I found this;
Drawing by deppangel818
I think this is perfect! I especially love Phoebus and Gringoire.
So I going to start periodically posting hypothetical casting choices for either movies or musicals.
So First off, since there is a new english language cast of Notre Dame de Paris let’s start there.
The thing about the English version of Notre Dame de Paris is that there are a lot of awkward weird lines and just because someone is a good singer it doesn’t mean that these lines can be delivered naturally. There are very few people in this world that can sing song with truly weird lyrics and sound serious and/or sincere. One singer who can do this well for example is the late Dio, who sang Holy Diver
. Now I say in my preface that people could living or dead however this post is not about Dio, it actually about another person who is capable of singing very weird lyrics and makes them seem natural and yet would make well cast in Notre Dame de Paris and that person is David Byrne
. David Byrne was the lead singer of the Talking Heads
but left to have a solo career.
I only recently became of fan David Byrne when I was introduced to him for potential AMV (anime music video) ideas (Shameless plug- I worked on an amv using a David Byrne song to Mononoke TV click here to watch, and leave a comment if you like ^_~, the amv is called Dark Interlude).
Lot of his songs are strange out of the ones I have heard I think U.B. Jesus and Speechless are the weirdest (lyrically). So given that he is a great singer who can sing some crazy lines and make them seem normal, I’d cast him as Frollo in Notre Dame de Paris, (He even looks a bit like Daniel Lavoie (the original Frollo))